The monuments of Ooty depict the colonial rule of English in India. John Sullivan was the first British to explore the charming place and Sullivan put the foundation of first ever bungalow of the region. Right from the miniature railways of Ooty to the churches and places, the architecture of the monuments are very English and Gothic styled. The place was mostly occupied by British during pre-independence periods. The constructions mostly look like English houses, narrow lanes which are beautified by imported English plantations.
Stone House in Ooty
Connemara Cottage or Stone house or Kal Bangla is oldest of all the concrete buildings of Ooty built by John Sullivan. The construction of the building started in 1822. The Bungalow has been altered from its original shape, but it still stands to be used by Government Arts College. A very old Oak tree stands in front of the building which is popularly known as Sullivan's oak. The building is British Style in architecture and has beautiful presence of antiques. The building also gains importance from the fact that Lord Macaulay resided here during 1934 to 1938. Location - Stone House Area, Stone House, Ooty, Tamil Nadu 643001
Nilgiri Library in Ooty
This is more than 150 year old library that stands on the Commissioner’s Road. The Gothic architecture styled building can be a great place of interest for the book lovers. The library was founded to cater to the European readers but today it stands as one of best libraries of the country. The historical records indicate that the library came into operations in 1859. Now the library has a collection of over 25000 books and conducts several events to promote reading habits among children and adults.
Location - Upper Bazzar, Ooty, Tamil Nadu 643001
The Ootacamund Club
The Club was discovered in 1819 by the British. A visit to the club today takes one back into those older times with the sight of highly polished rosewood furniture, brass fittings. There is a large Ballroom that also holds tiger, leopard, bear skins, bison, sambhar deer heads and the hunting trophies donated by members. The club is domiciled in a building excellently finished and built by the then owner, Sir William Rumbold.
Location - Mettupalayam, Ooty, Tamil Nadu 643006
Government House of Ooty
In 1840 Governor Lord Elphinstone suggested the pattern of Government moving to Ooty for summer. Finally during Duke of Buckingham's time Ooty was chosen for Governors for Presidency in summers. The government House was chosen for the Presidency. The Government House or the Raj Bhavan still has ballroom, banqueting hall, drawing and reception rooms, 17 guest rooms and numerous offices spread over nearly 30,000 square feet. Also there are Gardens Lawns, Rosariums, green houses, lily ponds and more inside this building. Location - Vannarapettai, Ooty (Ootacamund) (Udhagamandalam), Tamil Nadu
Fernhill Palace in Ooty
The Palace was a summer retreat to the Maharaja of Mysore, built in 1844 by Captain F. Cotton. There were ballrooms, highly ornamental ceiling indoor tennis lawn and suites to be used by Maharaja. From Capt. Cotton, the Bungalow changed many hands and often occupied by English elites. The palace covers an area of 50 acres surrounded by woods, lawns, gardens, tea gardens and valleys. The Palace is now a fine 4 star Hotel and worth a stay.
Location - Kundah House Road, Fern Hill , Ooty , Tamilnadu,643004
Arranmore Palace in Ooty
Arranmore Palace was built by Maharaja of Jodhpur and is also well known as Tamizhangam. The Palace is located in north of Ooty Lake and was served as a winter retreat by Maharaja. The Palace has some good display of crafts and style. The Ball room is paneled with rosewood. Arranmore was also used for the functioning of state assembly during 1959.